West Central Wisconsin Regional Education Consortium


With funding from the University of Wisconsin System in the fall of 2002, a regional organization focusing on economic development was created to blend the resources of educational providers, existing planning groups, and businesses. This organization came to be known as the West Central Wisconsin Regional Educational Consortium and serves a nine county area along the 1-94 Corridor within the Chippewa and St. Croix Valleys. The region consists of the following counties: Barron, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, and St. Croix. The Consortium members include: Chippewa Valley Technical College, the University of Wisconsin­-Barron County, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, University of Wisconsin-River Falls, University of Wisconsin-Stout, Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College, Cooperative Educational Service Agencies #10 and #11, and Workforce Resource. The Consortium developed the West Central Wisconsin Synergy Initiative, a partnership focused on positioning the region, its communities, businesses, and residents for sustainable economic growth through the collaborative efforts of key stakeholders from educational institutions, business and industry, Chambers of Commerce, government, and economic/workforce development centers.